Status Quo for Ottawa area as Canada Votes

A continuing sea of red for the national Capital Region, with a tinge of blue, after Monday’s federal election.

The Liberals won in seven Ottawa ridings – unchanged from the 2019 election.

Conservative MP Pierre Poilievre held on for a seventh term in Carleton.

Former Liberal MPP Yasir Naqvi won in Ottawa Centre. That seat was left vacant by Catherine Mckenna. Naqvi held the riding, provincially, from 2007 to 2018.

Jenna Sudds won in Kanata Carleton, leaving her Ottawa City Council seat, to replace Karen McCrimmon, who did not seek re-election.

Chandra Arya has been re-elected for a third time in Nepean.

Marie-France Lalonde keeps her seat in Orleans.

In Ottawa South, also no change, with David McGuinty holding on for the Liberals.

Mona Fortier was re-elected for a third term in Ottawa Vanier.

Incumbent Anita Vandenbeld was re-elected for a third term in Ottawa West-Nepean.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *